Business Certificate Information Guide

What is a Business Certificate?

A Business Certificate is a legal document which can be filed in the Clinton County Clerk’s Office by an individual or group of individuals who wish to conduct business in the County of Clinton under an assumed name. You may be required to have a Business Certificate to be licensed by other agencies or for tax or insurance purposes. New York law also requires a Business Certificate if you are doing business under any name other than your own name.

How do I file a Business Certificate?

Obtain and complete a Business Certificate or Business Certificate for Partners form. This form can be obtain from a stationary store or from the County Clerk’s Office. Search the index in the County Clerk Records Room to determine if the name you intend to call your business is already being used. If the name is already in use, an alternative name should be selected.

How much does it cost to file a Business Certificate?

$25.00 to file a Business Certificate

$2.00 for the form

$5.00 for each certified copy

$32.00 total – includes form, filing, and 1 certified copy

How do I discontinue a business?

Use the Certificate of Discontinuance of Business or Certificate of Discontinuance of Business as Partners form. There is no fee to file this form, however there is a $2.00 charge for the form.

How do I obtain a New York State Sales Tax I.D. number?

Go to